{Suzuki-0, Me- 1}

So I have some super fun news that I’ve been wanting to tell you for awhile now, but I couldn’t. 

So you remember THIS lovely mess???   Remember how I threw in the towel because I was so busy and just didn’t want deal with it and I didn’t want anyone else wasting their time on it?   Well…..someone didn’t stop and kept pursuing it legally.  This is where my awesome father and my brother-in-law……

My crazy car caused all sorts of drama for all sorts of people.   I was quite certain my dad was going to stroke again.  I’m sure many patients, drug reps, students, nurses, secretaries, etc had the privilege of witnessing my dad on the phone with Suzuki.  There may or may not have been a few things said that could have gotten him trouble :-)   My dad is a tricky man sometimes.  Typically, he’s very realistic, very laid back, zero drama, good about keeping his cool, letting things pass, not making snap decisions (unless it’s on a purchasing a power tool or a toy for the grandkids) and not going off the handle on stupid people.  But a big thing he can not handle is when someone messes with his kids.    Then he get’s all sorts of angry.   He was absolutely not going to let Suzuki get away with it and apparently, neither was Andrew.  I stopped messing with it, but my dad kept calling and Andrew (brother-in-law….lawyer) kept pushing the legal action. 

Well, last month I got a SUPER fun surprise from Andrew.  He was able to get Suzuki to settle for about $100 less than what I had to pay to get my car fixed and in rental car payments!!!!!  I was so excited :-)  That’s all I wanted in the first place, why on earth did Suzuki feel the need to drag it out for this long??  Had they just agreed to pay for the damage to my car (which was under warranty) in the first place, I wouldn’t have even cared about having to pay for my rental car.  But since they felt the need to be dumb, they have now ended up paying for both the damage and my rental car.   Go Andrew! 

My check came in last month and I had all these grand plans of recreating into one of those giant publishers clearing house checks and having my dad and Andrew pose with it for a pictures.  Somewhat like the movie Super Troopers.  You know, that part in the movie where they confiscate all the pot and start posing in front of it for pictures…do you know what i’m talking about?  I find that movie hysterical :-) 

So yeah, I was going to make Andrew a shirt that say “kickin a$* since 2002”  and then I was going to have my dad hold a fake shot gun….because…..well…..nevermind, I’m not going to tell you why I decided on a shotgun :-)    It was going to be all sorts of hoosier goodness, but Thanksgiving was crazy and we never did it.   All my fun went straight out the window!   I actually just cashed the check and I just now realized I never took a picture of it….so now I really can’t do anything fun with it.  I just wanted to give a GREAT, BIG, HUGE THANK YOU to my dad and Andrew for all their efforts and for taking care of me :-)  Yuu guys are the best!!! 

**************************************************************

Since I don’t want to leave you without any pictures.  Here’s a preview of what’s to come on my next post, which will invovle me posting one of our family’s most epic Christmas Card FAILS.   It’s hysterical!   But for now, you can see one of our cute Christmas cards :-)

4 thoughts on “{Suzuki-0, Me- 1}

  1. Lissy – I’m so happy for you and not at all surprised that your Dad went to bat for you. He does not like anyone messing with his kids (and I’m sure, grandkids, too!). And way to go, Andrew! What a sweet brother-in-law you are to help out!
    By the way, I love your Christmas pic – I think I have one of the originals somewhere in my stash of old Christmas cards! I see some of these young expressions on the grandkids’ faces now. It makes me all nostalgic and reminds me of Santa visits on Allison’s birthday (after the cake of course) and how fun it was to watch all of the little faces light up with anticipation and joy at his entrance each year….*sigh* – can’t wait to see more!

  2. Ha Ha! We didn’t have a choice. We had to file suit before your dad took matters into his own hands – then I’d have to represent him on a charge where the punishment was “for a term of years not to exceed 30, or life”. Christmas just wouldn’t have been the same, taking the grandkids to see Mike at the Alcoa Men’s Correctional Facility! And Super Troopers… it would have been funny seeing Mike (donned in sunglasses and a hippie wig, of course) walk into Suzuki headquarters on the security cams yelling “You boys like Mexicoooo?!”

Leave a comment