{did I mention how crazy I am about my nieces & nephews??}



Dear Lord I just love these babies to pieces!!!  Ever since the first one came along back on April 9th, 2004 (is that correct?)….they’ve consumed my life and it is completely by choice :-)   Every single one of them has their own little personality and quirks, their annoying thing that they do…..Jackson likes to karate chop every single one of your body parts, Ellie will randomly just start crying for no reason, Briley ask more questions than any human being should be able to ask, Carson tells everyone “no!”, Bella has a particular scream/cry that almost makes you want to cut off your own ears,  Lincoln steals stuff (and he has a pretty killer scream as well), the babies….well the babies can do no wrong right now :-)    But I’m totally calling Carolina on being sassy when she get’s older.  My mom says she just can’t see it….but you can’t fool me, Carolina!!!  I just know you’re going to take after your Aunt Lissy and be extra sassy :-)  By the way-  I totally saw what you did to Brady at Christmas.  You thought no one was in the room….but I was.  You two were just hanging out under the tree, crawling through your slobber and playing with your new toys.  You were playing with the pot from the toy kitchen and you put it down so you can move onto the next toy.  Brady kinda semi-pulled up to the kitchen and grabbed the pot……then it happened…..YOU knocked him over and then he cried because he hit his head.  What do you do??  You sit up, stare at Brady, stick your thumb in your mouth and then once you realize someone is running towards you two saying “oh no, what happened?!?! ”   You put on the water works.  You start crying and everyone thinks that you’re upset because Brady took the pot away from you.   I almost peed my pants.   

Sneaky, sassy Carolina!  Oh you are going to be the most fun :-) 

Anyway- sorry about the side story.   

Getting a picture on my cell phone from one of my sisters or my brother just makes my day.  Scratch that- I never get them from Andy & Autumn….hint hint.  Don’t ask me why- but I get so excited when I get a picture message with one of their sweet little faces.  Weird I know.   

What??  Do I need to get a life??  You’re just jealous :-) 

 

This one is actually from my cell phone. Mr Lincoln and Miss Ellie :-)

Don't they just make you laugh???

HA! Kaitlin sent this of Owen :-)

Brady squished into a snowsuit that doesn't fit :-)

Ali & I always laugh about Jackson's choice of pajama pants. She finally broke down and bought him all new ones the other week....which is sad because now i won't get my really good laugh in when I'm over there at night.

AHHHHHH!!!! Have you ever seen a cuter lady bug?? I think not!

Carson got to dress himself...........again- this one almost made me pee my pants. What's with the gloves??? You're in DALLAS kid!

Owen just going to get a little Mexican for dinner :-(

Colton's new swim trunks.....or swim pants....his mom said they're a little long :-)

 

Oh if only I could show you his cute little dimpled tush without someone wanting to send me to prison. Sara knew I would love this one :-)

Apparently Max thinks that Owen should be able to play fetch with him.

 

I just thought those were all funny….and I thought they would work for a blog post :-)   You know what- I really need to get married and have my own kids because those little blood suckers are going to make me flat broke by the time I’m 35.  I’m totally that Aunt.  I see a red pea coat with a Peter Pan collar at Target and BAM I buy the last one they have left.   I see a whole row of red converse tennis shoes ALL on clearance and what do I do??  I buy EVERY SINGLE FREAKING PAIR left (this is after I bought all the girls PINK converse tennis shoes the year before) and divvy them up.   PJ’s, toys, crayons, bubbles, shoes, candy, etc.  You name it- I’m suckered in and I buy it.  My future kids are totally screwed because I won’t be spoiling them like I do my nieces and nephews right now….and I’m pretty darn sure none of my siblings are going to be spoiling my kids because they have kids of their own to pay for.     

Tomorrow I start a travel marathon for the next week or so.   I head out to KC in the morning and stop in Odessa to do a shoot, then stop in Oak Grove to do a shoot, then finally go to Overland Park, hang out all weekend and do a few more shoots, then drive to Kirksville on Sunday, drive to Des Moines on Tuesday with my mom and Caroline so that we can go pick up Kaitlin and Owen (yayyyy- Owens first trip back to kv.), stay in Kirksville for the rest of the week doing shoots, drive to Columbia on Sunday and do shoots, then drive the rest of the way back to St. Louis on Sunday evening…………….then I’m in St. Louis for a week and then back to Kirksville that weekend……then back to St. Louis for a week…..then back to KC for the weekend…..then back to St. Louis for the week….then back to Bentonville for the weekend….and on and on and on and on.  It’s starting :-)   Yet another reason I need to find a boyfriend…so I’ll stop traveling so much!!!!   

ah- whatev :-)

12 thoughts on “{did I mention how crazy I am about my nieces & nephews??}

  1. Lissy I loved this post especially since I recently found out I’m going to be an aunt!!!! I think I’m going to have to open an account to start saving to spoil these babies!

  2. GREAT post Lissy!!! Made my day:) I think it’s time for a family weekend! I know all the boys agree with me…

  3. This was so much fun! I love all the pics you get on your phone. And then reading the end made me alittle sad…Kaitlin and Owen are coming and I won’t be here to see them :( *very sad face*
    Every one of these little ones is very blessed to have you love them soooo much! Couldn’t be luckier!

  4. Lissy,
    SPOIL, SPOIL AWAY!!!!! Your nieces and nephews will never forget it and will forever have memories that will last a lifetime. I’ve got some very fond memories myself!!! You’ve learned from the best of them!!! Thanks Mary Carol for memories that will last forever – remember the April snow storm in Edina!!! How about our trips to Baring!!! and I can’t forget about the birthday presents from your dad!!! Thanks Mike!!! So Lissy enjoy them and spoil them….you deserve it!

  5. Want to talk about blessings!!! How fortunate for Lissy to have eleven little ones call her “Aunt Yissy”.
    How fortunate for those eleven little ones to “know” that kind of love.
    How fortunate for me to have 35 nieces & nephews – I can still say their names in order without pause…that’s a small miracle right there!
    And a whole heartfull of memories that go with that many – Some that felt like sisters, some that were camping buddies, some with squeaky little voices, some with beautiful eyelashes, some that were “ornery” in the most adorable way, one that wanted to know why I couldn’t carry my own flowers when I asked if she would be the flower girl in our wedding, some that would cause their Grandma & Grandpa to chuckle all the way home, one that has such a sweet heart that she’s caused me to cry at each of my kids weddings, some that stir my heart everytime I see them, and all with good and kind hearts….so many blessings and so thankful for each and everyone of you,

    • Mary Carol – you and Mike have such an awesome family! Lissy is just a sweet heart as are all the rest. There is just nothing like the closeness and love of a family. And you are right – there is nothing like nieces and nephews (and of course, grandsons!)

  6. Lissy-you are sooo lucky to have all those neices and nephews! They in turn are soooo lucky to have you! Those are the perks of having a big family! Those are the things you miss out on by being an only child! Guess I will just have to spoil my grandbabies even more!

  7. Hey Yissy! Bella and Brady really love their aunt-friend Lissy and their parents are pretty lucky to have you love their little ones also!!!

    • …and Brady Boy is a little offended you crossed out his tushy because he knows it is adorable! His mama tells him that all the time!

Leave a comment