{I’m here, I promise!}

I have some sneak peeks for some very patient clients :-)

I had a shoot the night my dad fell, spent 2 days in Columbia, went to Kirksville and did a shoot, drove back to St. Louis that night (with Ali…the poor girl has been a taxi all over the state of Missouri for the past week), got on a plane to Dallas early Sunday morning, got back on a plane to St.Louis (with amanda, carson & the twins) that afternoon,  Ali picked us all up from the airport and then everyone went their separate ways, I tried to work for a little bit but I ended up falling asleep and sleeping for approximately 11 hours.   WONDERFUL!!!   Everyone keeps telling me I need to sleep and saying, “poor Lissy” but what they don’t understand is that when I get a chance to crash…I can really crash.  I’m perfectly fine with leaving my apartment a total disaster.  I can pick it up when I get home, no one really see’s it but me.  I have no kids, I have my own apartment, I have my own work schedule, etc.  My siblings on the other hand, they can’t crash.  Allison can’t crash.  She has 3 kids (4 if you count Andrew) and she can’t just lock herself and her room and sleep till 9:00.  Sara, she can’t crash either.  She has a two year old and a newborn.  My mom can’t crash because her house is always full and she seems to be a freak of nature that requires no sleep, same goes with my dad.   I’m the only one that can really catch up on my sleep & clean my apartment when I get to it.   This is why I can run here, run there, stay here, stay there, stay up for 3 days straight, go and do something for someone last minute, etc.  I can do all that because I know that eventually I will be able to come home and just crash. 

So basically…I’m trying to tell my siblings don’t feel sorry for me anymore :-)  Feel sorry for Ali who was been driving, not sleeping & not seeing her kids for a week.  Feel sorry for Sara who hasn’t slept cause she has a newborn, had to deal with a very stressful situation (I can’t tell you about that “situation” for a couple weeks) and spent 2 days in Columbia.  Feel sorry for my DAD WHO FREAKING CRACKED HIS HEAD OPEN, has had surgery & had to go without a shower for 3 days (gross).  Feel sorry for my mom because that woman never gets a break :-) 

Ok- sorry, I had to get all that out.  I feel better now :-)  Now on to the sneak peeks!!!!

First up is the Heckstetter family.  I took Mr. Gavin’s pictures a few months ago out at Purina Farms.  Carrie contacted me again to try and get some family pictures.  We took the pictures in my neighborhood and it worked out GREAT!!  I will be using it for more shoots in the future.  Although it was hot and HUMID, we still managed to get quite a few pictures and the shoot was a big success!  Thanks again for coming over my direction and enjoy your sneak peek!!

 

On Saturday I made my way back to Kirksville for approximately 6 hours.   I had a BIG shoot that we absolutely had to get done.   It was a big family and we had been planning this shoot for awhile.  I come from a big family and I know how hard it is to get everyone together.  So I knew  when they emailed me and said we could postpone it because of my dad’s fall….it wasn’t an option.  We had to do it or it would be another year before another chance would pop up.  Not only did we have to factor in whether or not I would be home by then (I didn’t have a car to get from Columbia to Kirksville), but we also had to factor in all the massive thunderstorms that were popping up everywhere.  Luckily God decided he liked me and he let us get the photo shoot in and he even decided to make the sunset extra perfect & pretty.  Thank you :-)  Quite honestly- I can’t remember all the last names in this family but I do know that Beeler is the main one!  hahahahah!  Actually- Amanda & Matt Heeren (their little boy Benson is doing the Time Flies When You’re Having Fun Package) were the one’s that scheduled & organized the shoot.   The whole shoot was awesome and the pictures turned out even better than I imagined (which is awesome because I imagined they were going to turn out like absolute perfection).  Thanks for making it such a fun evening everyone and enjoy your sneak peek!!   P.S.- The little girls in this family will CRACK YOU UP!!

Now for some side notes:

-I’m so behind on emails it’s not even funny.  I will be returning emails tonight after I get from a shoot.  I promise :-)

-If you are expecting a Photo CD in the mail from me…I promise those will go out tomorrow!

-Did I tell you we are going to Seaside this summer???  OH man it was such a fun surprise!!  It’s not everyone, it’s just my parents, me, Molly & Caroline.  My parents said they still wanted to go on a summer vacation even though we couldn’t make a big family one work this summer…so they decided to take the “single/non married” ones along with them.  SCORE!  If I keep getting in on all these little vacations….I Might never get married :-)  So we plan on going, but who knows with the whole oil spill thing and also my dad’s accident.  There’s a big chance we will probably not go, but you never know :-) 

-We are doing a Family Weekend over the Father’s Day weekend and I’m SO EXCITED!!!  Amanda & the kids are already in Kirksville, I’m going on Wednesday, Sara & Ryan and Kaitiln & Zane will be coming on Thursday, then Andy & Autumn will come on Saturday (they made plans for their anniversary in KC for Friday night).  The whole “long weekend” should be fun and everyone is really excited to be together again :-)  I feel bad for my parents.  They’ve been looking forward to this for so long and they’ve been SOOOO excited and then…my dad fell.  He’s so mad at himself and it makes me sad :-(  We will still have fun and I know he will to!  He will just have to hold the little babies on his left side and refrain from doing any of his normal activities.  We’ll cater to him for once!  Although we tried this after his stroke and he doesn’t handle it well.  The man loves to be up and running around and he loves doing stuff for people.  You can’t stop him!

-Speaking of my dad, he is home!!!  We got him home on Saturday afternoon and he immediately changed clothes, shaved & my mom washed his hair in the sink :-)  Then he got on his computer and started looking over his CT scans, ha!  He’s been getting some pretty bad headaches (but no vomiting, thank you lord) and hasn’t been able to sleep much because of them.  I think the fall is catching up to him now that he’s home.  He planned on just taking a few days off but he’s decided to be smart and is taking the whole week off.   The man thinks he is unbreakable :-)  

-Thanks for all the sweet emails, comments & facebook messages.  Really- we’re (the kids) all fine….my dad and my mom are the one’s who need prayers.  Those two…they really get put through the ringer sometimes :-)  But you know what the awesome thing is??  They NEVER complain.  If there’s anyone out there who truly has their priorities straight, realizes how to be grateful for the blessings they have and forget about the unfortunate things…it’s those two.  They’re just happy as can be and they rarely let things get them down.   oh mom & dad :-) 

-If you didn’t see the comment left by Jen Meyers on my previous post, go check it out.  Her little nephew Foster is in need of some serious prayers as well.  He did pretty much the same exact thing as my dad on Friday and he was life-flighted to Columbia.  Poor boy :-(  

Ok- I’m off to another shoot!  I’ll be back tomorrow sometime with their sneak peek.

6 thoughts on “{I’m here, I promise!}

  1. Absolutely perfect, Lissy! I love them. They are better than I imagined. I am so glad the shoot was able to happen and that your dad was discharged and able to rest at home. We had a great day and appreciate all of your hard work. I can’t wait to see the rest!

    P.S. Thanks to your wonderful assistant Molly who played peek-a-boo and whatever else she needed to do to make Benson laugh. You did great!

  2. Cool pics Lis. Doesn’t get much better than the black and white of the whole family.
    BTW, you forgot to mention how I single handidly, all by myself, solo mio, took care of 3 kids for 4 days in Ali’s absence. I’ll be waiting on my medal…I may use the “I’ve got to go to the office” excuse a little more now. Had trouble though explaining to Ali why/how an unknown burgler came in our house and randomly threw clothes, toys and various food products everywhere shortly before she returned.

    • If I am correct, I think I remember your mom taking care of them for most of Friday and Fiona helping a couple of hours that day too!!! (THANKS!!!)

  3. Pingback: {Sorry this took me all day to post…I’ve been glued to CNN} « Miss Prissiness Blog

Leave a comment