{There isn’t an Old Navy at the National Mall???}

Again…I almost peed my pants last night.  

We had to break the news to Molly that the National Mall was not a shopping mall.  

Not kidding. 

I was wondering why she kept asking where the mall was.  It just didn’t really strike me as something Molly would be so pushy about seeing.  Then last night we figured it out and we all laughed a lot :-)  

We had plans of being up, out the door and at the metro by 9:00 this morning….um…. that didn’t work.  My mom was just going to wake us up when we needed to get up to shower and stuff, but 8:30 rolled around and no one was awake yet.  I ran into my parents room because I wanted to make sure nothing happened and I just see my mom crawling out of bed saying, “a little bit sore.”  Soooooo we decided we would take our time getting out.  

We went and got some $15 omelets for breakfast (funny side note:  Molly ordered a side of bacon for breakfast…that’s it.  She got 2 slices of bacon.  She did eat a bunch of pineapple before we left the house so she was already pretty full, but it just made me laugh when they brought out all our plates and then threw 2 slices of bacon in front of Molly.)  after breakfast we started our trek Arlington Cemetery.  

VERY cool.  Very very very cool.  

We did a “Tour Mobile” that dropped us off at JFK’s grave, the eternal flame, Robert Kennedy’s grave, Ted Kennedy’s grave, etc.  The deal was that you had to be back on the bus in 8 mins if you wanted to make it to the Changing of The Guards in time.  Well…..there is no way to go JFK’s section of Arlington Cemetery and only spend 8 mins there.  Needless to say we missed the bus and decided to walk to The Tomb of The Unknown Solider.  We could walk and still make it time.  Turns out it’s all up hill and we had to walk/run in order to make it in time.  Mom wasn’t happy about it…not one little bit :-)  But she did it and we made it and it was very cool.  It’s crazy and you just have to be there to see how neat it really is.  Caroline & I were wondering what those guys were like in every day life….apparently they take some pretty serious “life vows” when they agree to do this whole shindig and by life vows I mean 24/7, till the day you die type of vows.    Google it,  its serious stuff.   

So after the Arlington Cemetery we decided to head on over to the Pentagon.  We spent a good chunk of the day at Arlington, but dad really wanted to make it up to the Pentagon since we were so close.  Again, very very very cool.  It’s so neat being able to see everything in person.  The Pentagon is pretty serious about keeping all civilians a safe distance away from the building.  We got there in the early evening and it’s Sunday so it wasn’t busy.  The memorial was much cooler than I thought it would be.  It was very peaceful and had lots of little details I never knew about.  In everything I saw it always appeared too modern for my taste, but it was actually very neat.  Very sad, but also very surreal to be that close to it all.  

Then some crazy foreign lady got yelled at by security for leaving her bags all over the place and that’s when we decided to head back home.  Seriously, it was so weird.  It almost looked like she was moving and she was hauling it all through all the metro systems.  Just bags of random stuff and she just kept piling it in random places and then moving it.  Very strange.  

We stopped at Krispy Kreme’s and got some yummy donuts and much-needed caffeine :-) 

Then we watched this awkward couple have an awkward personal/make out/crying/face touching/hair smoothing/tear wiping/make out again/ cry some more session.  Why would you have such a moment in the middle of Dupont Circle and right in front of a bunch Missourians sitting on a park bench eating donuts??  We of course watched them the whole time and made up our own stories of what was going on.  Very fun :) 

Then we came home, freshened up a bit and then headed out to get some MARGARITAS!!!!!!  We went to a really yummy mexican restaurant and ate a lot.  We also went creeping and looked at all the houses that had lights on a blinds open, hahahah!  There are so many cute little row houses around here and Caroline & my mom got some really great pictures.  I didn’t bring my camera to dinner so I wasn’t able to get any.  

Now I’m about to fall asleep before I get this posted.  My eyes are very, v e r y, v  e  r  y sleepy………… 

so here are some pictures from our day!  I will put explanation captions in every now and then :-)  

Goodnight! 

I did a self timer picture so Bella could see a picture of me :-)

 

Group pic! Minus me :-)

 

Jackson- Molly is getting this book for you :)

 

 

The metro is dirtyyyyyy

 

 

You don't have to tell this group twice! We all laughed when we saw this sign.....the couple behind us did not find it so funny.

 

 

 

 

Robert Kennedy

 

Ted Kennedy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Caroline trying to break in to Robert Lee's slave quarters

 

 

This is where the first Memorial Day picnic was held

 

Ok- I’m really really really tired right now so I will put up more pictures later :)  I don’t really have any of the Pentagon because there were No Photography signs everywhere. 

P.S.- We will send out a mass email when/if bail money is needed.  I think your comments provided  fuel to my dad….way to be guys….way to be :-)

4 thoughts on “{There isn’t an Old Navy at the National Mall???}

  1. Arlington National Cemetery is one of my absolute favorite places! Did you see the Kilday tombstone? Should be back in DC on Wednesday. Lissy, when you take the tour of the Capital, you will especially love taking pics in the Rotunda – I was blown away. If you get a chance, walk across the street from the Capital to the Library of Congress – it’s also gorgeous. If you go to the top floor, you can look down on the reading room (I think that’s what it’s called). If you read Dan Brown’s book, The Last Symbol, he refers to it as the most beautiful room in the world. Sounds like you’re having fun and the weather is cooperating!

  2. I forgot to give you my word of advise, take a hot soaking bath every night and then it is a little easier to move the next morning. We loved Arlington too, but we were able to ride the trolley everywhere so no running up hills. Enjoy the sight seeing and keep the pictures and posts coming, it is like reliving our trip all over again. Take care and stay safe (Uncle Mike stay out of jail please!!).

  3. I was thinking by Wednesday you are all going to want to purchase those Scooters from “The Scooter Store.” You know those power chair things. That way you can enjoy DC while sitting on your bottoms all day.

    I love your posts. Please keep them coming. We would love to see more pics of the home … so cute! Funny story … Carson was looking at the pictures and we came to the one of Molly reading the Clifford book and instead of saying “Mooly” he said “Clitard” … sorry Molly the Big Red Dog won that one. He also pointed out that “Coroline” was picking her nose.

    I love all the pics of DC SOOO COOL! Please keep Dad out of jail. But if it’s needed we can pitch in too on the bail. Just let us know. Hey a cool idea … if he does end up in jail we can always use his mug shot for our family Christmas card next year. :)

    Have a great trip. Take those hot baths like Nancy said to do. We miss you!

    Love,
    Amanda, Todd, Carson and his two little sidekicks Colton and Carolina

  4. Pingback: {Merry Christmas!!!!} « Miss Prissiness Blog

Leave a comment